Tuesday, 13 September 2011

Press To Play: An Hour Of the Hits Of 1958

This was one of the later releases in MFP’s Hour of Compilations released in the late 1980s.These were a good way of acquiring some classic hits (which by then were 30 years old) at a bargain price (£2.99).

They usually came in neat presentation boxes housing the original cassettes though I must admit I dumped half of these when finding they were generating too much clutter.
  • 25 of the 26 recordings on this release appeared in Mono except the final track on the release, Dean Martin’s Return to Me.
  •  Two spelling mistakes appear on the sleeve, Don Lang is miscredited as Dong Lang while Johnny Otis surname is spelt Ottis (which seems odd as the writer credit is spelt Otis).
All tracks digitised really well and sound great – back to mono!

An Hour of the Hits Of 1958 - Various Artists
MFP HR8175 Mono / *Stereo
  1. Eddie Cochran – Summertime Blues
  2. Alma Cogan – Sugartime
  3. Mudlarks – Book of Love
  4. Don Lang – Witch Doctor
  5. Fats Domino – The Big Beat
  6. Michael Holliday – The Story of My Life
  7. Rick Nelson – Poor Little Fool
  8. Eddie Calvert – Mandy
  9. Jim Dale – Crazy Dream
  10. Malcolm Vaughan – To Be Loved
  11. Bernard Bresslaw – Mad Passionate Love
  12. Ronnie Hilton – Magic Moments
  13. Michael Medwin/ Bernard Bresslaw / Alfie Bass / Cesce Fyfson – The Signature Tune of The Army Game
  14. Mudlarks – Lollipop
  15. Russ Conway – More Party Pops Part 1
  16. Sam Cooke – You Send Me
  17. Peggy Lee – Fever
  18. Four Preps – Big Man
  19. Michael Holliday – Stairway of Love
  20. Rick Nelson - Someday (You’ll Want Me to Want You)
  21. Charlie Drake – Splish Splash
  22. King Brothers – Put a Light in the Window
  23. Malcolm Vaughan – More Than Ever (Coma Prima)
  24. Ruby MurrayReal Love
  25. Johnny Otis Show – Bye Bye Baby
  26. Dean Martin – Return To Me*

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...