Friday, 16 August 2013

Retro Vinyl: The Four And Only Seekers - The Seekers, (MFP, 1969)

Here's a find from a Red Cross Shop in Carmarthen, located whilst travelling back from Tenby last week.

I actually owned a copy of The Four And Only Seekers before but for reasons unbeknown to me, my original copy seemed to have got lost. Still for 50p I was quite happy to obtain another copy of the album which was originally released as Hide and Seekers on Columbia Records in 1964.

This version actually has the album's original title Hide and Seekers written on the inner label and  follows on with MFP's usual practice in the late 60s of featuring different titles on the label than on the album cover.

The album consists of several recognisable songs performed by The Seekers in the 60s including This Little Light Of Mine, Kumbaya, Blowin In The Wind, We're Moving On and What Have They Done To The Rain. Also featured is Morningtown Ride which would be a Christmas hit for the group in 1966.

In all cases the performances are tight, melodic and tuneful while remaining timeless, while the choice of the material shows

The Seekers clearly had their finger on the pulse when recognising current trends in material (a Bob Dylan composition and a protest song that would soon be a hit for The Searchers are featured).

The Four and Only Seekers (AKA Hide and Seekers)
Music For Pleasure MFP 1301

Side 1
  1. This Little Light Of Mine
  2. Morning Town Ride
  3. The Water Is Wide
  4. Well Well Well
  5. Lady Mary
  6. We're Moving On
Side 2
  1. Ox Driving Song
  2. Kumbaya
  3. Blowin' In The Wind
  4. The Eriskay Love Lilt
  5. Chilly Winds
  6. What Have They Done To The Rain

1 comment:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...