Friday, 25 July 2014

Retro Vinyl Find: A Song For Everyone by Peter Dawson (Music For Pleasure MFP 1144)

Peter Dawson - A Song For Everyone (MFP 1144)
Here's another 20p vinyl find on the Music For Pleasure label from last Saturday. Many of Music For Pleasure's releases featured recordings by popular artists from previous decades.

An early example is this compilation from the 1960s (circa 1966)  looking at the work of Australian Baritone Peter Dawson (1882 -1961).

Entitled A Song For Everyone (MFP 1144), this release highlighted 12 of Dawson's recordings from the 1920s and 1930s.

Keith Davis provided the artwork cover of a fishing harbor, no doubt to illustrate the track Fishermen of England. Other songs to appear on A Song For Everyone included Old Father Thames, When The Sergeant Major's On Parade and Roses Of Picardy.

Peter Dawson:  A Song For Everyone
(Music For Pleasure, MFP1144, Mono, 1967)

Side 1
  1. When The Sergeant Major's On Parade
  2. Roses Of Picardy
  3. The Gay Highway
  4. Song Of The Flea
  5. Fishermen Of England
  6. The Erl King

Side 2
  1. The Bandolero
  2. Boots
  3. Somewhere A Voice Is Calling
  4. Old Father Thames
  5. Song Of The Volga Boatmen
  6. I Travel The Road

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...